National Association  for  Bilingual Education

  
 

    Special Interest Groups


     


                      Here at NABE we dedicate ourselves to our members 
     We advocate to SOLVE bilingual issues that most concern you!

 
NABE members have organized more than 20 special interest groups, covering all levels of schooling: early childhood, elementary, secondary, and higher education. Some focus on roles within the profession: teacher, paraprofessional, parent, research and evaluation, and policy makers. Other SIGs are devoted to the education of special populations or interests, such as Asian/Pacific Americans, gifted and talented, instructional technology, teachers as researchers, Native American bilingual education, special education, and world languages and cultures.

 Any group of 25 NABE members may petition the NABE Executive Board for authorization to form a SIG. Once approved, SIGs are given certain responsibilities and benefits. Among the responsibilities are organizing an academic session (either a half-day or full-day Institute) and a Business Meeting during NABE’s annual conference. In addition, the SIG Chair is invited to report to the NABE Board on important trends and issues that concern the SIG, as well as resolutions for action. SIGs are also encouraged to submit articles for the NABE News and other NABE publications.


Asian & Pacific Islanders SIG                

Rosa Salas Palomo, Chair
Micronesian Language Institute
University of Guam
P.O. Box 909
Hagatna, GU 96932
Phone: (671) 735-2193 or (671) 727-5522 salaspalomo@hotmail.com


Shu-Yuan Lin, Co-Chair
Idaho State University
921 S. 8th Avenue
Pocatello, ID  83209
Phone: (208) 283-3185
linshu@isu.edu


Bilingual Education
Student Organization

Belinda Schouten, Chair
Our Lady of the Lake University
Education Department
Bilingual Coordinator
411 SW 24th Street
San Antonio, TX 78207
Phone: (210) 434-6711 ext. 2473


Critical Pedagogy

Rosario Diaz-Greenberg, Chair
California State University San Marcos
2250 N Broadway 87
Escondido, CA 92026
Phone: (760) 750-4309 or (760) 480-1963
rgreen@csusm.edu

Mario Castaneda, Co-Chair
California State University Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA  90032
Phone: (310) 488-5220
professor.castaneda@gmail.com


Dual Language Immersion

Ines Veronica Cordero, Chair
Multilingual Student Education Services
Phone: (407) 905-3200, Ext. 6733
Ines.cordero@ocps.net


Early Childhood Education
Clara Cappiello, Chair
East Coast Migrant Head Start
1111 SE Federal Highway, Suite 226,
Stuart, FL 34994
Phone: (772) 781-2334 Ext. 21
cappiello@ecmhsp.org


Elementary Education
Doris Luft Baker, Chair
2656 Hendricks Ridge
Eugene, OR  97403
Phone: (541) 747-2925
dbaker@uoregon.edu

Lidia Morris,
Co-Chair
University of Texas at Arlington 
5105 La Salle Dr.
Arlington, TX  76016
Phone: (817) 451-8788 or (817) 300-8778
lidiamorris@sbcglobal.net


ELL Secondary Education

Jobi Lawrence, Chair
Education Program Consultant
Director, Title III
Iowa Department of Education
400 E. 14St.
Des Moines, IA 50319-0146
Phone: (515) 281-3805
Jobi.lawrence@iowa.gov


ESL in Bilingual Education
Rossana Boyd, Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle# 310740
Denton, TX  76203
Phones: (940) 391-4800 or (940) 565-2933
rossana.boyd@unt.edu

Ivannia Soto-Hinman, Co-Chair
Whittier College
13406 Philadelphia Street
Whittier, CA 90608
Phone: (562) 907-4200
isotohinman@whittier.edu;
ish777701@cs.com


Maria Dudash, Co-Chair
ESL Coordinator, Denton ISD
1212 Bolivar St.
Denton, TX 76201
Phone: (940) 369-0577
mdudasd@dentonisd.org


Gifted Education

Nilda M. Aguirre, Chair
Kreative-Kids Corp- President
43110 Holder Lane
Hammond, LA 70403
Phone:
(225) 209-0224
Fax: (985) 249-2771
nma226@gmail.com

Elsa M. Anderson, Co-Chair
Asst. Professor, School of Education
Texas Wesleyan University
Dan Waggoner Hall 303
Phone: (817) 531-4946

emanderson@txwes.edu


Indigenous Bilingual Education

Louise Lockard, Chair
Associate Clinical Professor
Northern Arizona University
COE: Educational Specialties
Phone: (928) 523-8218
louise.lockard@nau.edu

Florian Tom Johnson, Co-Chair
Rough Rock Community School
Navajo Curriculum & Technology Specialist
Phone: (928) 728-3786
Fax: (928) 728-3576
Florian.Johnson@roughrock.k12.az.us



Instructional Technology

Eurvine Williams, Chair
Illinois State University
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Campus Box 5330
Normal, IL  61790
Phone: (309) 438-3174
ewillia@ilstu.edu


Language Policy
Margarita Machado-Casas, Chair
University Texas San Antonio
Phone: (210) 458-5571
machadoc5277@gmail.com Margarita.machadocasas@utsa.edu

Belinda Schouten, Co-Chair
Our Lady of the Lake University
Education Department- Bilingual Coordinator
411 SW 24th Street
San Antonio, TX  78207
Phone: (210) 434-6711 Ext. 2473
btschouten@lake.ollusa.edu



Para Educators
Currently Accepting Nominations!
Email NABE BOARD Vice President

Jose Agustin Ruiz-Escalante

Jare21@yahoo.com

Parent and Community
Carla Amaro-Jimenez,
Chair
The University of Texas - Arlington
502 Yates St. Science Hall, Rm. 322P
Box 19777  Arlington, TX  76019
Phone: (817) 272-3346
amaro@uta.edu



Policy Makers

Laura Carrasco, Chair
Educational Consultant
Phone: (210) 332-3589
Fax: (925) 364-8690
Lauracn@prodigy.net

Annette Torres-Elias,
Chair
8117 Pase Drive
Plano, TX 75025
Phone: (469) 952-8690
atorreselias@yahoo.com

Viviana Hall, Co-Chair
2914 Starboard 20
Rockwall, TX 75087
Phone: (214) 768-1522
vividallas1@yahoo.com


Refugee/ Newcomers
Nancy Montgomery, Chair
Assistant Clinical Professor ESL/Bilingual
Southern Methodist University
Dallas, TX  75275
nmontgomery@smu.edu


Elda Rojas M. Ed., Co-Chair
Director, Department of World Languages
Dallas Independent School District
Phone: (972) 925-8913
Elrojas@dallasisd.org


Research and Evaluation
Gail Verdi,
Chair
Bilingual Education Coordinator
Kean University
1000 Morris Avenue
Hutchinson J-330G
Union, NJ 07083
Phone: (908) 737-3908
gverdi@kean.edu

Miriam Eisenstein Ebsworth, Co-Chair
Director of PhD & Post-MA Programs in
Multilingual Multicultural Studies
NYU Steinhardt, 316 East Building
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 998-5195

mee1@nyu.edu

Special Education

Amy Mazur,
Chair
George Washington University
2134 G St. NW RM 416
Washington, DC 20052
Phone: (202) 994-1511
amazur@gwu.edu

Patricia Rice Doran,
Co-Chair
Project Coordinator
Towson University
304 Hawkins Hall
Phone: (410) 704-3891
pricedoran@towson.edu


World Languages and Cultures

Mariella Herold,
Chair
Northern Arizona University
PO Box 5774
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5774
Phone: (928) 523-7141 or (520) 235-8755
Fax: (928) 523-1929
Mariella.herold@nau.edu
                                                                        
 


  
8701 Georgia Avenue, Suite 700, Silver Spring, MD 20910 Phone: (240) 450-3700 Fax: (240) 450-3799
© 2014 National Association for Bilingual Education. All rights reserved.